In 1998 the following Weizmann Institute scientists were awarded recognition for their achievements:

Prof. Ruth Arnon and Prof. Michael Sela 1998 Wolf Prize in Medicine
Prof. Ruth Arnon Rothschild Prize in Biology
Prof. David Cahen Polish Jewish Ex-Servicemen's Association Prize, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Prof. Hadassa Degani Woman of Distinction Award, Hadassah Women's Zionist Organization of America
Prof. Aryeh Dvoretzky Solomon Bublick Prize, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Dr. Michael Elbaum 1998 Josefa and Leonid Olshwing Foundation Prize
Prof. Amiram Grinvald Elected a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Prof. Haim Harari Honorary Doctorate, Jewish Theological Seminary, New York
Prof. Israel Pecht and Prof. Uzy Smilansky Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany
Prof. Amir Pnueli Honorary Doctorate, Joseph Fourier University of Grenoble, France
Prof. Itamar Procaccia Fiorino d'Oro Prize, Township of Florence, Italy
Prof. Leo Sachs Elected a Foreign Member of the Academia Europaea
Prof. Michael Sela Elected a Foreign Member of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences
Prof. Adi Shamir Elected a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Prof. Uzy Smilansky Alexander von Humboldt Research Award for Scientific Cooperation between Israel and Germany
Prof. Yosef Yarden Sergio Lombroso Prize for Contributions Toward the Understanding of the Causes of Cancer

Please share if you found this interesting: