Rothschild Prize to Weizmann Institute Professor Yoseph Imry


You are here

Prof. Yoseph Imry
REHOVOT, Israel -- May 26, 1996 -- Weizmann Institute Prof. Yoseph Imry, a leading expert in the theory of solid state physics and one of the founders of the new and growing field known as mesoscopic physics, will today receive the 1996 Rothschild Prize in Physics, to be presented at a ceremony taking place at the Knesset, Israel's Parliament, in Jerusalem.

Mesoscopic physics deals with topics ranging from the foundations of quantum theory to development of ultra-modern electronic devices. According to the Prize committee, Prof. Imry's "personal contacts with experimental and theoretical physicists have greatly advanced the development of this new field throughout the scientific world."

The committee also praised Prof. Imry for raising a new generation of outstanding Israeli scientists and lauded his ongoing efforts to promote the infrastructure for experimental physics in Israel.

Prof. Imry, who holds the Max Planck Chair of Quantum Physics at the Weizmann Institute and is a member of the Department of Condensed Matter Physics, has received numerous other honors including the 1996 Lorenz Professorial Chair from the University of Leiden, The Netherlands; the Humboldt Research Award, Germany; the IBM Award, U.S.A., as well as the Weizmann and Landau Prizes, Israel. Imry is also an active member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

The Rothschild Prizes are awarded once in two years by the Rothschild Prize Foundation in Israel.

The Weizmann Institute of Science is a major center of scientific research and graduate study located in Rehovot, Israel.